That’s a lotta walkin’.

by robynrobotron

Between planning my wedding in September and producing a monthly variety show, I’ve gotten behind in the Cannonball Read.  I finished Grandma Gatewood’s Walk over a week ago.  Maybe it’s because I went to school with the author, Ben Montgomery, that I’ve been putting it off.  I want to do justice to his first book.

Emma Gatewood was in her late 60’s when she took off to hike the Appalachian Trail.  She didn’t tell any of her 11 children where she was going (they were all grown at the time), she just up and left.  She had read about it in National Geographic and it seemed like a nice little jaunt.  She was to find that wasn’t the case, but that didn’t stop her and she became the first woman to walk it through in one go.   She had faced worse in her life, and took her acclaim in stride (so to speak).

In addition to being the story of Grandma Gatewood’s multiple hikes, the book also serves as a slight history of the trail itself.  It was criticism brought up by Gatewood that led to improvements being made that led to the trail’s continued use by hiking enthusiasts up until the present day.  But the real story is in the resolve and strength of one woman against the elements, walking to find something uncertain, most likely solace.  I’d like to think she found it up there on a mountain top, carrying her light pack (filled with less than half accouterments that I would dream of taking on a trip like that, and I’m half her age), wearing out pair after pair of tennis shoes.

If you’re into hiking, you should definitely read this book.  The same goes for fans of stories about strong women.  If this isn’t your cup of tea, I would still advise you keep you eyes peeled for more from this author.  If his first outing and previous articles are any indication, we can expect great things from him.